Community  |  Governor's Office of Appalachia

Community » Governor's Office of Appalachia

The Local Development Districts (LLDs)

Contact Us

Governor's Office of Appalachia
77 South High Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215
(614) 644-9228
(800) 848-1300

To ensure that funds are used effectively and efficiently, and to strengthen local participation, the Appalachian Regional Commission works with the Appalachian states to support a network of multi-county planning and development organizations, or local development districts (Local Development Districts), throughout the region. The 73 Local Development Districts cover all 420 counties in 13 Appalachian states.

In Ohio, four LDDs work with the Governor's Office of Appalachia and the Office of Community Development to administer state and Appalachian Regional Commission funds. Using a "bottom up" approach, local communities and the LDDs prioritize projects in their regions. The ARC Code, the Commission's and State's plans and strategies, and the LDDs project scoring criteria all include provisions to focus additional support, funding, and resources on counties designated as "distressed" by the Appalachian Regional Commission. The designation recognizes "…counties within Appalachia with persistent, long-term problems that have resulted in extraordinary levels of economic and human distress."

Ohio’s four Local Development Districts are:

The Local Development Districts’ most important role is to identify priority needs of their local communities. Based on these needs, the local development districts work with their board members and other local citizens to develop plans for their communities' economic and community development, to target and meet the most pressing needs, and to build community unity and leadership.

Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission
P.O. Box 149
Waverly, Ohio 45690
(740) 947-2853
Toll Free: 800-223-7491
Fax: (740) 947-3468
Counties: Adams, Brown, Clermont, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, Fayette*
*Non-Appalachian county within the development district

Buckeye Hills–Hocking Valley Regional Development District
P.O. Box 520
Reno, Ohio 45773
(740) 374-9436
Counties: Athens, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Perry, Washington

Ohio Mid-Eastern Governments Association
P.O. Box 130
Cambridge, Ohio 43725-0130
(740) 439-4471
Counties: Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Muskingum, Tuscarawas

Eastgate Regional Council of Governments
100 East Federal Street, Suite 1000
Youngstown, Ohio 44503
(330) 779-3800
Counties: Ashtabula, Mahoning, Trumbull

Download Regions and the Local Development Districts Map